Skip NavigationMenu

Public Notices

Meetings Notice

Upcoming meetings will be notified on this page. Check back regularly for updates.




The following elections will be held by postal vote on Saturday 8 October 2022.

Masterton District Council

(First Past the Post electoral system)

Election of the mayor

Election of four councillors for the Masterton/Whakaoriori General Ward

Election of one councillor for the Masterton/Whakaoriori Māori Ward

Election of three councillors at large

Election of six members for the Masterton Community Trust

Election of four members for the Masterton Trust Lands Trust

Election of two members for the Montfort Trimble Foundation

Candidate names will be listed in alphabetical order on the voting papers.


Nominations for the listed positions open on Friday 15 July 2022 and must be made on the appropriate nomination form for each position. Nomination forms and a candidate information handbook can be found either on the Masterton District Council website, or by request to the electoral officer via the contact options listed below. Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than 12noon on Friday 12 August 2022. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by eftpos, cash or on-line banking (see candidate handbook for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to submit a candidate profile statement and colour photograph with their nomination, for sending out with voting documents to electors. The requirements for profile statements and photos are set out in a candidate handbook which is available with the nomination forms. All nomination documents must be lodged together.

Electoral Rolls

Preliminary electoral rolls for these elections can be inspected at the following locations during office hours from Friday 15 July 2022 to Friday 12 August 2022.

  • Masterton District Council office, 161 Queen Street, Masterton
  • Masterton Public Library, 54 Queen Street, Masterton
  • Castlepoint Store, Castlepoint
  • Riversdale Store, Riversdale

Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by contacting the Electoral Commission:

  • Online at
  • By texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you
  • By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you
  • By email request to [email protected]

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 5pm on Friday 12 August 2022 

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the Masterton District Council electoral officer before 5pm Friday 12 August 2022. Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made through the non-resident ratepayer portal: 

Warwick Lampp

Electoral Officer – Masterton District Council

Masterton District Council, 161 Queen Street, Masterton 5810

0800 666 048

[email protected]

Temporary Restriction on Car Parking at the Library and former Departmental Building (Chapel Street) allocated to Covid-19 Vaccination Clinic.

The following public notice is to advise that further temporary amendments have been made to the Wairarapa Consolidated Bylaw, Part 10: Traffic Bylaw Schedule, Schedule 2Q: Temporary restriction on use of parking spaces

Location: 31 parking spaces (as per signage) at the Library and the former Departmental Building Car Park

Period of restrictions: Extended until Thursday 30 June 2022

The amendment to Schedule 2Q is extending the date of restriction from 21 May 2021 – 31 March 2022 to 21 May 2021 – 30 June 2022 on the use of the Council owned car parking spaces at the Library and the former Departmental Building carpark (Chapel Street) allocated to COVID-19 Vaccination Clinic visitors.

For more information, go to our Bylaws page.

Final Representation Arrangements – 2022 Local Elections

On 13 November 2021 the Masterton District Council gave public notice of its final proposal for representation arrangements for Masterton District Council for at least the local elections to be held on 8 October 2022. Notification of the right to appeal or object was also given. No valid appeals or objections were received in respect of the resolution, therefore the representation arrangements for the Masterton District Council’s 2022 local elections will be the same as in the final proposal:

Council Representation

The Council will be made up of eight members elected from two wards and at large, and the mayor. The community of interest is the Masterton District.

Masterton/Whakaoriori General Ward
4 councillors
Elected by: Electors district-wide on the general electoral roll

Masterton/Whakaoriori Māori Ward
1 councillors
Elected by: Electors district-wide on the Māori electoral roll

At large
3 councillors
Elected by: Electors district-wide on either the general electoral roll or the Māori electoral roll

The Mayor is elected at large.

Community Board Representation

No community boards are to be established.

Further Information

Any queries regarding the Council’s decision should be directed to Tania Madden:

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 06 370 6300
Postal address: 161 Queen Street, PO Box 444, Masterton 5840

David Hopman – Chief Executive
5 March 2022

  • Was this Page Helpful ?
  • YesNo