

Masterton District Council 2022 Triennial Elections

DECLARATION OF RESULT

The final result for the Masterton District Council elections held on Saturday 8th October is as follows.

Mayoralty		Votes Received
CAFFELL, Gary	Masterton Matters	5,455
BOWYER, Craig HAYES, Jo NIXON, Tina IZARD, William HAKEPA	Masterton The Way You Want It Our District, Our Taxes, Our Decisions Independent	1,335 930 895 650 81
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		26 213

Gary CAFFELL is declared elected.

Council - At Large (3 vacancies)		Votes Received
HOLMES, David		4,810
LENNOX, Stella	Next Generation Councillor	4,278
GOODWIN, Brent	Reduce staff and Civic Centre costs	4,028
HARRISON, Hewitt	Affordability and Accountability	3,671
GARE, Brent (BG)	•	3.460
RYAN, Sandy	Community at heart	2,853
HULLAH, Drew	Independent	983
HAKEPA	·	447
INFORMAL		37
BLANK VOTING PAPERS		240

Brent GOODWIN, David HOLMES and Stella LENNOX are declared elected.

Masterton/Whakaoriori General Ward (4 vacancies)		Votes Received
JOHNSON, Bex	A Voice For Our Community	5,753
* CAFFELL, Gary (Withdrawn)	Masterton Matters	5,585
HULLENA, Tom		4,755
NELSON, Tim	Independent	4,292
BOWYER, Craig	Masterton The Way You Want It	2,881
DICK, Graham	Progress not Procrastination	2,631
PETERSON, Chris	1 Togress flot i Tociastifiation	2,417
JAMES, Peter	Independent	1,910
SORIANO, Ryan	·	1,487
INFORMAL		16
BLANK VOTING PAPERS		82

(* Withdrawn as elected as Mayor)

Masterton Community Trust (6 vacancies)		Votes Received
JOHNSON, Bex GRIFFITHS, Lucy SOUTHEY, Leanne	A Voice For Our Community	6,641 6,429 6,427
ANTONIO, Mena TAUCHER, Karl BASKERVILLE, Don	Good Decisions	5,711 5,533 4,222
WAITOA, Joanne	For our people, for our planet	3,826
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		2 501

Mena ANTONIO, Don BASKERVILLE, Lucy GRIFFITHS, Bex JOHNSON, Leanne SOUTHEY and Karl TAUCHER are declared elected.

Masterton Trust Lands Trust (4 vacancies)		Votes Received
JOHNSON, Bex KLOEG, Monique BREWSTER, Christine MCCLYMONT, Isabella	A Voice For Our Community	4,751 4,152 4,070 3,632
GOLLINS, Chris		3,131
INFORMAL BLANK VOTING PAPERS		3 434

Christine BREWSTER, Bex JOHNSON, Monique KLOEG and Isabella MCCLYMONT are declared elected.

The voter return was 46.68%, being 9,400 votes, excluding special votes.

Elections were not required for the following positions.

Masterton/Whakaoriori Māori Ward (1 Vacancy)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Marama TUUTA, is declared elected.

Montfort Trimble Foundation (2 Vacancies)

As the number of nominations received did not exceed the number of vacancies, Kirsty McCarthy and Grant PERRY are declared elected.

Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer Masterton District Council 13 October 2022